Changing Hotkey Assignments

You are new on FA and seek help to learn to play ? This is the right place !

Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby Rigelation » 17 Jun 2013, 06:25

Hi folks,

I'd like to change the default hotkeys for build orders. I just installed the GAZ hotkey mod, but can't find any functionality to do this. Do I actually have to go edit one of those .lua files?

Also, aren't there already some favorite hotkey templates that most of the pros use? I wasn't able to find any info with a quick forum search.
Rigelation
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 06:21
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Rigelation

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby ColonelSheppard » 17 Jun 2013, 14:23

as far as i know keybindings can be changed by having GAZ enabled and pressing F1 ingame

i dont think there are such templates.. it's really personal choice just as some prefer wasd for racing games and some the cursor keys
User avatar
ColonelSheppard
Supreme Commander
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 12:54
Location: Federal Republic of Germany
Has liked: 59 times
Been liked: 61 times
FAF User Name: ColonelSheppard

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby Kurbain » 17 Jun 2013, 15:39

Rigelation wrote:I'd like to change the default hotkeys for build orders.


Default Hotkeys for BOs?
Are you talking about Hotbuild? Or using hotkeys to select a build template you created?

As far as I know, the only way to select a template via hotkey is installing Hotbuild and using the G key to cycle through them.

Regarding the last question, these threads might provide answers:
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3764
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3471
Kurbain
Avatar-of-War
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 05 May 2013, 20:42
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 1 time
FAF User Name: Kurbain

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby Rigelation » 21 Jun 2013, 07:48

Hey guys, sorry for the late follow-up. What I meant was hotkeys for building stuff--not templates necessarily. Example:

I want to tell my commander to build a land factory. By default I have to press B -> L. I want to remap this to, say, B -> F. Unfortunately, these seem to be the only hotkeys not editable under the F1 menu.
Rigelation
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 06:21
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Rigelation

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby Scoot » 21 Jun 2013, 09:46

Can one of the mods maybe sticky one of the GAZ_UI + hotkey threads?
User avatar
Scoot
Contributor
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 29 Mar 2013, 14:19
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 6 times
FAF User Name: Scoot

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby ZaphodX » 21 Jun 2013, 15:04

Recommend dropping build mode and getting Zulan's hotbuild mod.
User avatar
ZaphodX
Contributor
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 01:55
Location: UK, GMT+0
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: TAG_ZaphodX

Re: Changing Hotkey Assignments

Postby Rigelation » 22 Jun 2013, 05:39

Ok, I'll check out Zulan's mod. Thanks!
Rigelation
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 06:21
Has liked: 0 time
Been liked: 0 time
FAF User Name: Rigelation


Return to Help me I'm a newbie !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest